Our Priorities

Our Priorities

Investing in:

Students | Faculty | Innovation

Learn where your gifts are needed most

For more than 110 years, Mitchell has been the law school of choice for people who desire a forward-thinking education grounded in practical wisdom. With their Mitchell degree in hand, our graduates are leaders in the legal community and in civic life. As we look to the future, we will continue to build on our signature characteristics—the enduring qualities that for more than a century have defined who we are and how we teach: students, faculty, and innovation.

Investing in Students

Mitchell’s mix of students is vital to our brand of legal education. Mitchell’s student body is a mix of old and young, career professionals and new college graduates, full time and part time. They make Mitchell’s classroom learning dynamic. Our students learn from each other, and they take legal education to a new level. But, earning a law degree is expensive. And even though Mitchell’s tuition is below the national average, it’s still more than $30,000 a year. We want to make sure a Mitchell legal education is accessible to motivated students. Financial support for philanthropic scholarships based on need and merit is critical.

Investing in Faculty

A law school is only as good as its faculty, and we have to say—our faculty has proven to be outstanding. They don’t work from ivory towers. They are connected to the profession. Some work within the legal community providing counsel on cases or adding their wisdom to legal discussions at all levels. Some shape legal discourse, trends, and research through their publications and involvement in local, regional, and national legal organizations. All are dedicated to teaching and mentoring. However, without financial support, it’s hard to retain outstanding professors. We strive to create endowed faculty positions and invest in our faculty who are leaders in our areas of strength, Clinical and Skills Education, Advocacy, and Intellectual Property, and in our growth areas, including Business and Transactional Law and International/ Comparative Law.

Investing in Innovation

Mitchell has been on the forefront of legal education innovation, offering an education that integrates practical legal skills with doctrine. We were a pioneer in clinical and trial advocacy training. We wrote the book, literally, on legal writing. We measure up and often exceed the recommendations from prestigious national groups, like the Carnegie Foundation and the American Bar Association, that call for law schools to add value to the profession and society. If we want to continue to offer an innovative legal education that stays ahead of the ordinary, we need to invest in it. We need to build our endowment to expand our clinical, externship and practicum programs and invest in new initiatives, such as our Center for Law and Business, and our international programming.