Board of Advisors

Members of the Intellectual Property Institute’s Board of Advisors draw on their experience and education and give of their time, financial support, and expertise for the benefit of the Intellectual Property Institute and the Minnesota IP community. The Board assists in framing the basic direction of the IP Institute and works with the Dean, Director of the IP Institute, faculty and staff to shape the goals of the program.

Carolyn Bates ’76, General Counsel, Cima NanoTech

Brian Batzli ’85, Managing Director and CEO, Merchant & Gould

Stephen R. Bergerson ’74, Chair, Advertising, Marketing, and Trademark group, Fredrikson & Byron

Alan G. Carlson

Alan G. Carlson Carlson, Caspers, Vandenburgh, Lindquist & Schuman, P.A.

Daniel Enebo ‘97, Chief IP Counsel and Vice President (as of June 1, 2011), Cargill

David J.F. Gross, Head, IP Litigation, Faegre Baker Daniels LLP

Michael J. Jaro, Vice President and Chief Patent Counsel, Medtronic

Steven W. Lundberg ’82, Chair, Founding Partner, Schwegman, Lundberg & Woessner

James H. Patterson, Managing Partner, Patterson, Thuente IP

Kevin H. Rhodes, Chairman, Board of Advisors President, Chief IP Counsel, 3M Innovative Properties Company

Sandra Epp Ryan ’94, Special Counsel, Patent Agent, Hamre, Schumann, Mueller & Larson, P.C.

Michael D. Schumann ’79, Managing Director, Hamre, Schumann, Mueller, & Larson

Ron Schutz, Chair, IP Litigation & Licensing Group, Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi

Michael L. Schwegman ’72, Founding Partner, Schwegman, Lundberg & Woessner

Andrew D. Sorensen ’89, Chief Patent Counsel, Ecolab

Becky Thorson, Partner, Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi

Min (Amy) S. Xu ’97 Partner, Hamre Schumann Mueller Larson LLP

Min (Amy) S. Xu ’97 Partner, Hamre Schumann Mueller Larson LLP

Not Pictured

Paul W. Busse, Partner, Kagan Binder

James Chiapetta, Senior Patent Counsel, Boston Scientific

Mark Stignani ’93, Of Counsel, Schwegman, Lundberg, Woessner