DeParcq Leadership Celebration

Mitchell honors two graduates with annual alumni awards

On Tuesday, Oct. 2, 2012, William Mitchell College of Law honored two exceptional alumni by presenting them with awards at the annual DeParcq Leadership Celebration.

Once again this year, the honorees are impressive, both as community members and legal professionals. One has served William Mitchell in many ways since graduating. The other has dedicated her entire career to building a better judicial system.

Sue Dosal ’79

2012 Recipient of the Honorable Warren E. Burger Distinguished Alumni Award

During 30 years as the Minnesota State Court Administrator, Sue Dosal has received appreciation from the many colleagues she has helped. But the heartiest thanks should probably come from people who might never meet her—the future generations who will benefit from the revolutionary changes she made in the state’s court system.

Those changes include unifying the state’s trial courts from 87 county-based entities to a single state-based system and helping create the Minnesota Court of Appeals. She was also instrumental in the construction of the Minnesota Judicial Center.

Greg Stenmoe ’81

2012 Recipient of the Honorable Ronald E. Hachey Outstanding Alumni Award

If there’s a way to support his alma mater, Greg Stenmoe has it covered. He has served in leadership roles at William Mitchell and advocated on its behalf since graduating from law school.

Greg served on the Mitchell Board of Trustees for nine years, including two as chair. He also has been an active fundraiser for the Law Review, leading the establishment of the Steenson Law Review endowment, which helps student law review editors.

As a shareholder at Briggs and Morgan, Greg is chair of the firm’s Litigation Department and serves on its management committee. He has consistently built connections to William Mitchell and championed Mitchell alumni and programs in the community.